Jake Karrfalt Best Student Paper Award

To encourage student participation in the microelectronics research community, MDTS recognizes the top student paper each year. To qualify, the first author must be a student and that student must present the paper at the symposium.

The Process: the General Chair will designate a judging panel with members of experienced practitioners and researchers who have no direct contribution to any of the student papers. The panelists will independently rate each student presentation on technical novelty and clarity in writing and presentation, and then select a winner. Members of the judging panel will be announced at the presentation of the award.


  • 2024: Swarup Chakraborty (Univ. of Vermont), “Harmonic Tag with Probe-Fed Patch Antennas”
  • 2023: Jeelka Natwarbhai Solanki (SUNY Polytechnic Institute), “Effect of Resistance Variability in Vector Matrix Multiplication Operations of 1T1R ReRAM Crossbar Arrays Using An Embedded Test Platform”
  • 2022: Maximilian Liehr (SUNY Polytechnic Institute), “Impact of Switching Variability, Memory Window, and Temperature on Vector Matrix Operations Using 65nm CMOS Integrated Hafnium Dioxide-based ReRAM Devices”
  • 2021: Zhuoran Li (Old Dominion University), “A New Design of Smart Plug for Real-Time IoT Malware Detection”
  • 2020: Konstantinos Poulos (Southern Illinois University), “A Built-In Test Circuit for Waveform Classification at High Frequencies”
  • 2019: Yi Sun (Southern Methodist University), “Scan Segment Disable for Capture Power Reduction for Low-Power Decompressed Patterns”
  • 2018: Timothy M. Platt (Clarkson University), “Reducing Test Time with FPGA Accelerators Using OpenCL
  • 2017: Saurabh Gupta (Southern Methodist University, US), “Mitigating Simple Power Analysis Attacks on LSIB Key Logic
  • 2016: Muralidharan Venkatasubramanian (Auburn University), “Failures Guide Probabilistic Search for a Hard-to-Find Test
  • 2015: Yi Sun (Southern Methodist University), “Using an FPGA in a 3D Stacked IC to Prevent LSIB Bitstream Snooping”
  • 2014: Kai Hu (Duke University), “Testing of Flow-Based Microfluidic Biochips and Experimental Demonstration
  • 2013: Ujjwal Guin (University of Connecticut ), “On Selection of Counterfeit IC Detection Methods“, (co-author: Mohammad Tehranipoor)
  • 2012: Kemal Kulovic (Univ. of Massachusetts – Lowell), “Flexible VITAL Embedded Instruments for Built-In Test of AMS Power SOCs
  • 2011: Marco Donato (Brown Univ.), “Noise-Immune CMOS Circuits for Sub-Threshold Operation Using Schmitt-Trigger Logic” (co-authors: K. Nepal, R. I. Bahar, W. Patterson, A. Zaslavsky, and J. Mundy)
  • 2010: Zahra Lak (McMaster Univ.), “A New Algorithm for Post-Silicon Clock Measurement and Tuning” (co-author: N. Nicolici)
  • 2009: Ke Peng (Univ. of Connecticut), “Efficient Pattern Grading for Small Delay Defects in Digital Integrated Circuits” (co-authors: M. Yilamaz, K. Chakrabarty, and M. Tehranipoor)
  • 2008: Xiaoxiao Wang (Univ. of Connecticut), “Path-RO: On-Chip Critical Path Delay Measurement Under Process Variations” (co-authors: M. Tehranipoor and R. Datta)
  • 2007: Alodeep Sanyal (Univ. of Massachusetts), “A Co-evolutionary Algorithm for Dynamic Power Minimization During Scan Testing” (co-authors: A. Sokolov, Y. Malaiya and D. Whitley)
  • 2006: Nitin Yogi (Auburn Univ.), “High-Level Test Generation for Gate-Level Fault Coverage” (co-author: V. Agrawal)
  • 2005: Jack Smith (Univ. of Vermont), “Automated BIST Testing of Delay Faults in FPGA Interconnect” (co-author: T. Xia)
  • 2004: Anuja Sehgal (Duke Univ.), “Cost-Oriented Test Plan Development for Mixed-Signal SOCs with Wrapped Analog Cores” (co-authors: S. Ozev and K. Chakrabarty)
  • 2003: Dan Zhao (SUNY-Buffalo), “A New Distributed Test Control Architecture with Multiple Wireless Test Connectivity and Communication for Gigahertz System-Chips” (co-authors: S. Upadhyaya, and M. Margala)
  • 2002: Lan Rao (Rutgers Univ.), “New Graphical Iddq Signatures Reduce Defect Level and Yield Loss” (co-authors: M. Bushnell and V. Agrawal)

James Monzel Service Award

The Process: This service award is issued based on recommendation by the Steering Committee and the General Chair. Qualification of a candidate must include 10+ year of service to the MDTS community with significant contributions. This award is not necessarily issued annually.


  • 2024: Kelly Ockunzzi of Marvell Semiconductor
  • 2023: Eugene Atwood of IBM
  • 2019: Tian Xia of University of Vermont
  • 2018: Brion Keller of Global Foundries
  • 2016: Eugene Atwood of IBM and Yu Huang of Mentor Graphics
  • 2015: Paul Reuter of Mentor Graphics
  • 2014: Vishwani D. Agrawal of Auburn U
  • 2013:  J.C. Lo of University of Rhode Island
  • 2012: Charles “Chuck” Stroud for 9 years of service, Chuck has served as Program Chair (2 years), Vice Program Chair (2 years), Steering Committee (5 years), Web Page Administrator (7 years), and provided guidance to a new generation of MDTS volunteers
  • 2011: Edmond “Ted” S. Cooley for 20 years of service, Ted has served as program and general chairs, as well as many years as the finance chair. In the words of Jacob Abraham of UT-Austin in the early 2000’s when he came to U. of RI’s Kingston conference complex for MDTS,  “Ted is the most efficient and reliable registration and finance chair he knew (in all conferences that he has gone to)”

Excellence in Design and Test Engineering Award

The Process: The winner of the 2016 award was based on recommendations by a judging panel of senior experts who are not members of the MDTS operation team. Typical IEEE standards in technical paper review practices were applied. This award has been on hold after 2016 until further notice.


  • 2016: Fanchen Zhang, Yi Sun, Xi Shen, Kundan Nepal, Jennifer Dworak, Theodore Manikas, Ping Gui, R. Iris Bahar, Al Crouch, and John Potter, “Using Existing Reconfigurable Logic in 3D Die Stacks for Test”